Writings

Rainy day dreams

As I sit here listening to the rain,
I realize how lucky I truly am.
I have a family that I adore,
And despite the difficulty at times,
I know it is a part of some cosmic plan.
I watch my youngest sleep.
Dreaming, innocently
I watch the rise and fall of her chest,
While she suckles at my breast.
She has yet to be introduced to the world
And its difficulties.
But one day she will,
And I can only protect her for so long.
Just as her older sister will one day see,
I cannot always be there
No matter how much I long to be.
But for now,
I sit here in silence while my youngest sleeps,
Listening to the rain.
Because as they say,
Babies don’t keep.
Leave a Reply

