Reviews

The 5th Wave: A Review

I was given this book as a Mother’s Day gift from my step-son. At first, I will admit, I was apprehensive because it is young adult book, but I put it on my next to read list.

As soon as I was done with my assigned novels for school, I began to dig into this one.

Just a brief summary:

The book is the first of a series of three science fiction novels by Rick Yancey. The story follows Cassie as she survives the arrival of aliens, called “Others” or “Them”, and their attempts to wipe humans from the Earth through a series of “waves.” Wave 1: All the power is knocked off. Wave 2: Devastating earthquakes and tsunamis. Wave 3: A virus wreaks havoc. Wave 4: The Others take on human forms as Silencers. Arriving at Wave 5. Earth’s last survivors are scattered and the population has dwindled drastically because of the 4 waves and Cassie has to decide whether to continue to trust no one, or let Evan help her survive.

Now… my thoughts:
When I first started reading, I was not impressed. I hated Cassie’s dialogue. It was random and punctuated. For lack of a better word, it was bouncy. Her thoughts jumped from one topic to another, typical of a teenager. Not exactly my cup of tea in terms of dialogue.

But I NEVER stop reading a book once I start. I may put it down for an extended period of time, but I ALWAYS finish it.

In the case of The 5th Wave, I am glad I did.

I ended up enjoying this book a lot more than I expected I would. I wanted to read more and found myself lost in this post-apocalyptic world right alongside Cassie, Sammy, and Ben. I was there while they fought for survival against the Others. I could see the millions dying of a virus that had no cure. I found myself thinking, “If aliens did come to Earth, this is probably how they would destroy humans.” And even though the plot was predictable at times, I continued. I had a strong feeling of what was going to happen and when it did, I was still surprised. I knew where the story was going, but could not resist the journey in getting there. I found myself staying awake much later than I should have just to get to the next chapter or section.

I was hooked.

So much so that when it ended, which was a good 20-30 pages before the back cover because there was a preview of the sequel enclosed, I was sad. I wanted to know where Cassie, Sammy, Ben ended up. I wanted to know if there was more to Evan’s part of the story. Is there another wave? I have to find out more.

So, while not originally a book I would purchase for myself, I ended up truly enjoying this one. I will willingly purchase the sequels and read it as soon as I get my hands on it.

So, big thumbs up to Seth for picking out a book that I really enjoyed reading and had trouble putting down, even when sleep began to take control.

Leave a Reply

