Writings

"The Life of John Grandy" – Introduction of an Evolving Character


So this week has been a little crazy in regards to time to read. I’ve had a lot of reading to do for my classes and book clubs and haven’t been able to finish the 3rd in the Miss Peregrine’s series… yet.
I wanted to get some kind of post in at the end of the week though, so I decided to introduce a character I’ve been working with, John Grandy.
 This was a creative writing assignment I had a few months ago and he has since become a character I go back to continuously. 
Now, this is still a work in progress and evolving bit by bit, so don’t be too harsh on me.
But, this is one of John Grandy’s “intros” of sorts. I’ve written 3 or 4 more stories with him, but this was the 1st one that popped into my head when given the assignment and I figured it was time to share him and this story outside of my school.
Enjoy! 
 
The Life of John Grandy
            John Grandy woke up that morning like every other morning. After snoozing his alarm clock three times, he rolled out of bed to get ready for his boring, mediocre cashier job at Piggly Wiggly. Time to get the lead out, right guys? Little did he know the day would not end normally.
            Carrie and Simon responded in sync, “Right.” They had been a part of John’s life for many years now, often coming to his rescue in his greatest times of need. To John, they were very real even though a small part of him realized they were all in his head. Even so, they were his counselors, his coaches, and the only two people in the world he could truly trust.
            Carrie and Simon were always there for John providing him with the answers he needed. Carrie had a bit of a violent side, but Simon’s wisdom provided the perfect counterbalance.
            Walking in the door at work right on time for his shift, John went virtually unnoticed until the high-pitched voice broke the silence, “Hi John!” Sonia bounced over to him, vibrating from the large amounts of caffeine she had ingested, “You’re register three today. Drawer is all set and ready to go.” Nodding with a half-smile, John quickly clocked-in and made his way towards his assigned register. Great, the express lane.
            Carrie chimed in, “Go tell her NO! Not the express lane! No one ever reads the item limits, idiots.”
            “No, it’s not that big of a deal. Register 3 usually goes home early.” Simon always managed to find the brighter side of a situation.
            The shift continued without much of a hitch and with only a few customers breaking the 15 item rule. Before John knew it, several hours had passed. Oh no, here she comes again. Sonia came bounding towards John’s register still as happy as ever, “You can go ahead and close up John. Carl is in the office waiting to check you out for the day. See ya!” John sighed with relief. Thank God.
            “See that wasn’t so bad, now was it?”
            “It was the pits,” growled Carrie.
            It was work. Turning off his register light, John grabbed his cash drawer and started towards the office. I hope Carl is quick today. I’m ready to go home, my head is killing me.
            Carl sat behind the desk with his feet stretched out in front of him, relaxed. He was new to the management team and was all about changing and improving the company. “Hey there Johnny. Come on in and shut the door behind you. I want to have a little chat.”
            “Chat? I don’t think so,” fussed Carrie. “Tell him cash you out because you are going home. He can chat with someone else.”
            Carl sat up straight and laced his fingers together, “How long have you worked for the company Johnny?”
            “It’s John and about 15 years now.”
            “Wow. 15 years?” Carl sighed, “Would you consider yourself an asset to the company?”
            John hesitated, “Sure. Uh, I mean, I guess so.” Where is this going?
            Carl reached for John’s cash drawer and set it in front of him on the desk. “Now Johnny, I’m going to ask you something here and I need you to be honest with me. Have you ever stolen anything from here?”
            “Absolutely not. I, I would never steal anything from any-anyone.” What is this about? What should I do?
            “Just stay calm,” soothed Simon. “You haven’t done anything wrong. Hear the man out for now.”
            Carl stood from his chair and walked around to lean against the front of the desk. The overpowering smell of cheap cologne almost knocked John down as Carl drew closer. Ow, my head. Carl crossed his arms in front of his chest, “You see, Johnny, I’ve been cleaning up the books around here and I noticed something pretty interesting. It seems your drawer is always short. Not by much, but $1 here, $10 there. Always. You have any explanation for that worth hearing Johnny?”
            “It’s J-j-john, sir. Just John. No, I have no idea what you’re talking about. I’ve never taken any money. I’m no-not a thief. I don’t steal. I, I, I’m a little confused right now.”
            “He’s lying!” Carrie had yelled so loudly John almost lost his balance. “Look at him, he’s lying! He’s the new one, not you. He’s doing the math wrong!”
            Carl shook his head in disappointment, “I’m sorry to hear that Johnny. I was really hoping you would come clean with me. At least then when I filed my report, I could smooth things over for you a bit with the guys at home office.”
            John’s breathing quickened. What is going on here? What is happening? My head is throbbing. Why does he insist on calling me Johnny!
            “He’s lying! Tell him to go back to school and learn how to add!”
            “Carrie, hush! You don’t need to yell like that. John, stay calm. The truth will come out.”
            Carl stood and made his way back to his chair. Sitting down, he stretched his legs out in front of him, relaxing despite the current conversation. “Johnny, I’m going to have to let you go. I wish you could’ve been honest with me, but there’s nothing else I can do for you. Go ahead and leave your apron in the break room or it’ll come out of your check, which will be mailed to you.”
            John stood there, frozen. Carl walked to the office door, opened it, and motioned for John to leave. John left the office with his head down doing as Carl said. I’ve been fired? He walked out of the building to his car and sat in the driver’s seat unable to drive away.
            What am I going to do? This is the only job I’ve ever had. No one will hire me now. Guys, help me here. What do I do?
            Silence.
            Carrie? Simon?
            Silence.
            Where are you guys? Can’t you see I need your help! Carrie? Simon? What do I do now?
            For the first time since John could remember his friends weren’t there to respond. What John didn’t realize was that the headache he was experiencing was much more than that and not only did it silence Carrie and Simon but it would soon silence John himself.
Leave a Reply

