Reviews

The Cellar: Review

Goodreads.com

So, The Cellar. I came across this book on sale on Amazon one day and thought the description sounded interesting. Considering I only spent a few bucks on it, it wasn’t bad. It wasn’t great either.

It’s a story we have heard before. A man, normal by all public accounts, has a secret. Well, several secrets. In a town where nothing ever happens, except apparently a dozen or more murders over the course of a few years, several missing persons, including Summer, the bored 16-year-old the book focuses on. Sounds like a pretty hopping town to me. Of course, Colin (or Clover) has mommy issues, which is why he kidnaps young women, including Summer, and makes them a part of his “family.” The only difference between this story and the many, many, many others like it I have read before, is the floral aspect of Clover’s sadistic plan. And honestly, that is never fully explained, so I am still a little in the dark on that.

I wanted to like this book, but, in the end, it was mediocre.

I had the Kindle version and there were numerous typos. Now, we are all human and it happens, but there were so many at one point in the book that it completely distracted me from the story. Because I was figuring out what the words were supposed to be or filling in the missing words, I got distracted from what was going on. Then had to read it over again, which was like nails on a chalkboard because I had to subject myself to the typos again.

Now, obviously Colin/Clover has some sort of mental illness, but it is unclear what is exactly going on. He is obsessed with his mother and doesn’t want to disappoint her even though she is dead, and at some point he “talks” to his mother. It was all, again, a familiar story. It reeked of a Norman Bates vibe, who has the mother of all mother issue (like that).

The plot was predictable in every sense. I mean, have I read too many books? Is there nothing that can surprise me anymore? I refuse to admit that is the case, but anyone can write, right?

One of the good things, which there are only a few, is that it was a quick read. The chapters were often short and thanks to Kindle’s “Time left in chapter” status at the bottom of my screen, I often flipped through large chunks of it. The writing seemed amateur to be considered a best-seller, but it does technically fall into the young adult fiction category, which makes sense. Pre-pubescent teenagers prefer a different dialogue than I do apparently.

And, there’s a sequel! I have not decided whether or not I will give Cellar #2 a chance or just call it a day with this one. I can already see what happens in the next installment: the killer escapes, Summer fears for her life, the town searches frantically, and women begin to go missing… again. I am just guessing here, fyi.

For now, on to the next read that hopefully will be a little more engaging and a lot less predictable.

Leave a Reply

