Writings

Pitter patter thump thump

Pitter patter, pitter patter, 

Her feet once went.

Up & down the hallway,

Thump, thump, thump.

Echoes through the hall now

Providing a serene cadence

Right before my eyes.

It seemed last weekend

She was a much smaller size.

I’ve tried my hardest to record to memory,

Every smile,

Every giggle,

& make it a part of me.

One day, she will no longer need me.

A day when

If I’ve done what I can,

She will know the joy it brought me 

To hear

Pitter patter, pitter patter,

& thump, thump, thump.

Leave a Reply

