Reviews

Jane Eyre AudioBook (Review)

Jane EyreJane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’m not going to do a full review of this only because I have read this book before and this time I tackled the audiobook. 

Now, to the nitty gritty. I just don’t think I am the audiobook type of person or maybe I need more practice. I chose this book as my first audiobook because I was familiar with the story. I have read the book and watched the latest film adaptation made in 2011 and still had trouble following the story. It is a great classic story, but the audio was lost on me. I just had trouble following the story. There were so many times that I had to rewind and start over. Or, if I hadn’t had the chance to listen in a while, I had to start at the beginning of a chapter to pick up where I left off because I could not quite figure out where the story was.

Also, I am a BIG fan of making annotations in books. I highlight, underline and make notes throughout my books. It helps me digest the text and really get into what I am reading. Even my kindle books, I highlight and make constant notes then usually have little extra tidbits on my OneNote about the book. With an audiobook, I am just not able to do this, which makes me a little sad.

Overall, this is an amazing story that just didn’t come across as amazing as it is, for me, as an audiobook.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

