Messages

Rating System

So I recently decided to look at my rating system because I have so few 5 star books. I read a lot of books throughout the year, surely some are worth 5 stars. I realized that I was only giving a 5 star rating to a book if I was absolutely in love with it and would read it repeatedly. While this is not a bad way to look at it, there are few books that fall into the “I can’t live without this book” category or the “I want to read this over and over again until the day I day” category.

So, here is the new rating system I came up with:

  • 5 stars: Loved every part of it. I want to share it, tell the world about it and would definitely read it again. If I have a physical copy, it is a book that will remain on my shelf until the end of time. If I have the eBook, it never gets deleted.
  • 4 stars: Loved most of it. I would recommend it to others, but there are definite moments that I am not a fan of. Overall, the good outweigh the bad and the bad moments are few and far between.
  • 3 stars: Didn’t love it or hate. These books I would consider to have an unbiased view on. If someone asks me about it, I would say it was neither good nor bad, but I would not go out of my way to recommend this book to a friend.
  • 2 stars: More bad than good. Like 4 stars has more good than bad, a 2 star is for those books that I only enjoyed reading a small portion of. These are usually few and far between, but even I pick a lemon sometimes.
  • 1 star: The dreaded single star. These are rare, but on occasion I pick up a book that I just did not enjoy reading, usually for a variety of reasons. While I have a hard time letting go and not finishing a book, a 1 star would definitely fall under the “DNF” category of books.

While not a huge change, these are the newest way I am going to look at books when I go to rate them. I’m not going to change any of the books I already have rated, but the books and their reviews from this point forward that I read are going to use these ratings.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

