Reviews

Voyager (Review)

Synopsis:

Claire and Jamie’s story is far from over. She left him behind to travel back to her time to bear his child in safety, knowing he would be killed in battle. For 20 years, she has raised Brianna with Frank, but Jamie has never left her mind or the hold on her heart. Desperate to find what has happened to him, she, along with help from Brianna and Roger, embarks on a search to discover what happened to Jamie after she left.

Claire must make the decision to leave her life and daughter behind to find Jamie in the past where he has survived the battle at Culloden or remain where she is, in her future. A decision that will change not only her life but the lives of those that surround her.

I think perhaps the greatest burden lies in caring for those we cannot help.

Review:

This one by far was my favorite of the Outlander series (so far). It completely made up for the fact that I didn’t really like Dragonfly in Amber. I also had a lot more personal time to devote to reading for pleasure, which might be why I enjoyed this one and was burning through the chapters.

I think what I loved most about Voyager was following Jamie. Hearing the story through Jamie’s words created a new experience and it almost flet like a new series in the beginning. For 2 books, we have heard about Claire and her life after traveling back in tiem. We hear Jamie’s words, and of his actions through her eyes, but finally Jamie has a voice. All of his maddening actions make sense when he explains why he needs to do what he does. I wish I could have heard his side of things earlier. He was always outspoken and honest with Claire, but hearing his thought was different.

I wish the whole book would have remained in his point of view, but it bounced back and forth between Claire and him and ultimately, settles on Claire. I’ve grown to like Claire over time, but I’ve always had a soft spot for Jamie since first meeting him in Outlander.

The way this story was set up was interesting as well and that is what had me wanting more. At first, the story picks up where Dragonfly in Amber left off, at Culloden. Claire goes through the stones and Jamies goes to fight a battle against the English that he knows will kill him. But things rarely go according to plan, and Culloden serves as an example of just that.

While we learn of what has happened at Culloden to Jamie as it is happening, we also go to the future where Cl;aire has been trying to track down what happened to Jamie. There are well-placed and aptly timed flashbacks from Claire that fill in the last 20 years of her life raising Brianna with Frank. In theory, the back and forth would seem confusing and the flashbacks simply adding to the chaos, but it works out wonderfully. There are these different storyline that manage to merge and blend like a modern-day Shakespearean play.

I also enjoyed this particular book the most because a lot of the unanswered questions from Outlander and Dragonfly in Amber are finally answered. Of course, there are still questions that have been left open, but I trust they will be answered in future books.

There were a number of twists and turns as well, which added to the story instead of distracting from it. I’ve come to enjoy the characters and how each of them has a very different story to tell compared to the next. Some of the twists were sad, for instance the death of one of my FAVORITE characters, and some made me mad, like when a despised character returns, but I enjoyed every up and down this time around.

I hope Drums in Autumn doesn’t let me down because Voyager made the entire Outlander series really worth reading for me.

Leave a Reply

