Reviews

Holidays on Ice (Review)

Holidays on IceHolidays on Ice by David Sedaris

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

First, humor is something that is hit or miss. People either love your jokes and laugh to the point of tears, or they hate your guts.

This, to me, wasn’t funny.

I have read so many great things about David Sedaris and when the first story in Holidays on Ice, “Santaland Diaries,” was assigned in my Advanced Creative Writing course, I figured it was time for me to finally read his work.

Honestly, the only reason I even finished reading this book was because it was short.

I might be in the minority here, but I didn’t find it funny and I’m not sure if I’m going to venture into any other Sedaris books any time soon. I almost didn’t want to even write this review because in doing so would bring back to my mind all the reasons why I didn’t like it. I decided to write this though, because I promised myself I would review all the books I read and I’m not about to stop now.

So, back to humor.

Some people love watching cats chase their tails and some pople like dead baby jokes. I am a cat-chasing-tail kind gal. I’m not saying the jokes were bad, but they definitely were not my cup of tea. Making fun of people who come see Santa, for example, is what you do on service industry night at your local bar with co-workers. The whole first story was basically a drunken complaint from a service industry worker and I say this, because I have spent my fair share of time dealing with customers and venting to co-workers over a pitcher of beer. I just didn’t want to read about it and I failed to find the humor.

There are other stories in Holidays on Ice that don’t read this way, but there is this sort of shock humor that I don’t find appealing. Read the book if you want to find out what I mean. I’m not going to give it all away here.

I’m a little sad I didn’t like this book. Theft by Finding: Diaries (1977-2002) and Me Talk Pretty One Day have been on my TBR for a while now and now I’m unsure if I want to read them. I’ve read countless reviews on Sedaris and all of them rave about how hilarious this was or how they couldn’t stop laughing out loud and here I was pushing myself to finish a book I was desperately hoping would get funny.

The humor just wasn’t for me. Sedaris has a dark, sarcastic and sometimes cynical sense of humor and the few moments that were a little funny were overshadowed by the moments that weren’t.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

